President of MWA elected in the CWF

Jesmond Caruana President of Malta Weightlifting Association was elected as Executive Member in the Commonwealth weightlifting Federation.

On 30 July 2014, the Commonwealth Weightlifting Federation held its Electoral Congress at the Glasgow Caledonia University on the occasion of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

This is the 77th year since its foundation in 1947. Thirty seven nations of the Commonwealth participate in the weightlifting competition here in Glasgow.

Thirty six voting countries took part in the election of the CWF.

The President and General Secretary / Treasurer were unanimously elected with no opposition.

President: Dato Ong Poh Eng (MAS)

Secretary General / Treasurer: Paul Coffa (AUS)

Vice Presidents (6):

Kevin J. du Plooy (RSA)
Shri Birendra Prasad Baishya (IND)
Tom Liaw (SIN)
Gary Marshall (NZL)
Hafiz Imran Butt (PAK)
Sir John Dawanincura (PNG)

Executive Board Members (6):

Philip Maunder (AUS)
Jesmond Caruana (MLT)
Dr. Mike Irani (ENG)
Ssenkungu Salim Musoke (UGA)
Andrew B. Callender (BAR)
Mohyuddin Ahmad (BAN)

Assistant Secretary


Trent Dabwido (NRU)